Scenes from an Alley

I’ve been home a lot lately, since I lost my job in December (short story: company downsized). I’m the type who normally cannot stay home all day; there can be two feet of snow outside and I just HAVE to get out of the house. However, with money tight and job-searching a priority, I’ve been trying to stay home (to conserve gas/expenses and focus on finding a job) as much as possible.

One particularly frustrating, depressing day, I needed to get out, walk around, and breathe under the wide open Oklahoma sky. So I grabbed my camera and headed to an area about 20 minutes away (by car, that is). It’s a cute little area, but I took more photos in the back alley than I did along the front of the shops.

^ Oh, how I want to do a photo shoot in this little nook!

^ I loved the colors, patterns and light in these glass blocks. Granted, I bumped up the colors in processing, but they were there in real life too.

^ What lies behind door #24? I’m perfectly content with the door itself, thanks!

^ The seemingly-purple blinds, with the yellow curbs, and then the light reflecting on the windows… I just had to take this picture!

^ I loved the faint yellow door, the random bucket of fake flowers, the collection of boxes/meters, and the gorgeous rust-colored wall in the background!

So, that’s all I have for now. I might post more from this walk when I finish them, or some that I’ve taken around the house. Let me know what you think, what you like and don’t. And thanks for reading!

Photographs © Nicole McDaniel and Nicole McDaniel Photography, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.

One thought on “Scenes from an Alley

  1. Pingback: Scenes from an Alley, Pt II | Nicole McDaniel Photography

Leave a Reply

