On the Other Hand…

Of course, I wouldn’t go on a photo outing and not take my DSLR, even if the point was to try something different! Having been to the Myriad Gardens before, I knew there would be plenty to take pictures of (even in February), and I thought it would be interesting to compare the results from one camera to the other. Here are a few of my DSLR favorites (more to follow as I sift through them all):

^ It was a foggy morning, and somewhat rainy, and cold. And, according to one construction worker, they were in the process of bringing/taking down this crane. I just loved the glow of the crane’s lights through the fog.

^ A direct correlation to one of the lomography photos.

^ It was a struggle to find bright colors in February, but they were there, if you looked. And if you sprawled on the ground to get close enough.

^ Pretty pathway, but I really love the moss on the trees!

^ Another direct correlation to one of the lomography photos. And now I want some cabbage soup.

The verdict? I really do appreciate and respect those who shoot film, and it’s something I would like to get back into, someday. The experiment was a lot of fun, but a little costly. Most importantly, I know how to use my Nikon better than I did the loaner camera, and I’m a bit happier with the results I get from the Nikon. For now, I’m happy to stick with it.

Photographs © Nicole McDaniel and Nicole McDaniel Photography, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.

Leave a Reply

