Northwest Tour

Confession: I’m homesick.

Wait… is it possible to be homesick for a place that’s never been your home? I hope so, since otherwise I don’t know what this is.

Lately, I’ve been missing the Pacific Northwest: Washington and Oregon, Seattle and Salem. Because I have relatives up there, I have had the chance to visit the region quite a few times in my life. And I love it. I love the water, the greenness, the mountains, the fields, the trees, the clouds, the people (especially those I’m related to), the Eco-friendly attitude, the coffee… and so much more! I’ve only seen a fraction of it, and I’m sold. If it didn’t mean moving so far from my friends and family, I’d be there in a heartbeat. Instead, I settle for trips every couple of years. It’s been almost two years since my last trip, and I’m not sure how much longer I can wait before heading back.

Since I don’t own a private jet (that’d be nice!) and lack the funds/time to travel frequently, the only remedy for this homesickness is photographs and memories. And that’s where this post, and the next few, come in. Please, bear with me as I treat my malady.

These photos are from my most recent trip in June of 2010. My husband and I went, partly for a belated honeymoon, partly to get away for a while, and partly to see my family. He’d never been, so it was fun to do some of the tourist/sightseeing things.

First up on our Northwest Tour: Seattle, specifically the market.

Pike Place Market was down the street from our fancy hotel (which we LOVED and recommend), so we hit it a couple of times in the day and a half we had in Seattle. (Challenge: fly in around lunch, and by lunch the next day explore as much of the city as you can, by foot, on a super tight budget.) The top shot is from our first pass through, on a Wednesday afternoon. I couldn’t believe how busy it was for so early in the afternoon (1? 2?), and I was in love with all the gorgeous, delicious produce available. My husband was amazed at all the fresh (and flying!) seafood — he was in heaven! The bottom shot is from early the next morning, as the shop owners were arriving to set up for the day. We swung by to pick up breakfast before hitting our other stops that day.

More Seattle pictures to come!

Photographs © Nicole McDaniel and Nicole McDaniel Photography, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.

3 thoughts on “Northwest Tour

  1. Pingback: Northwest Tour, part two | Nicole McDaniel Photography

  2. Glad you had a great time in the NW. There is SO much to see/do there and I totally agree with you on the homesick part. I moved there because of that and I still get a feeling of coming home each time I go back. I LOVE it there!

Leave a Reply

