Fooling around… with my camera

I’m caught up on editing pictures for clients/jobs, but I’m about a month (or two!) behind on my own pictures. I was going through them tonight, trying to make a dent in the backlog… and I think I did. There are still many left to do, but they’ll have to wait for another day.

I stumbled across this photo tonight. I’m not sure what I was trying to do; there’s a good chance that I was just playing or feeding my shutterbug habit. Regardless of the reason, I like the result, even if it’s not a technically solid photograph. It makes me happy, and in this case, that’s all that matters.

In case you’re wondering, it’s a shot of the parking lot downstairs, taken through the opened (but not raised) blinds and the screen. The focus is non-existent, likely landing some point between the blinds in the foreground and the parking lot in the background. But, the light was lovely that evening, the colors are gorgeous, and I like the effect the blinds and screen had. And, to be honest, it’s prettier out of focus than an in-focus shot of cars or the screen would have been. Trust me, I’ve taken those before too/

What do you think — should I keep this happy accident, or toss it?

I’m heading down to Texas again this weekend, so no more posts until next week. Have a lovely weekend, dear readers!

Photographs © Nicole McDaniel and Nicole McDaniel Photography, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.

4 thoughts on “Fooling around… with my camera

Leave a Reply

