Dallas!

On a recent, leisurely trip to Texas, I decided to do something that I’d never really done before: explore downtown Dallas. Now, knowing that I grew up in the area, you might be surprised that I hadn’t done this. In school we did the West End/6th Floor Museum field trip, and I’d been to Deep Ellum for a couple of concerts during/after my senior year of high school, but I’d never really taken the chance to walk around downtown Dallas. So, I did.

^ If I was a professional photographer living in Dallas, this little corner would be appearing in quite a few of my shots. Just sayin’!

^ This little portion of a building just… glowed. The front of the building was much more formal, but this nook thing reminded me of older cities, where people string clothes out to dry and yell across the alley at their neighbor. I loved it!

^ Not sure what made me think of taking this picture. Maybe it was the potential for superb leading lines. Whatever it was, I’m grateful.

That wraps up my Dallas tour. If you want to see more… head down to Texas!

Photographs © Nicole McDaniel and Nicole McDaniel Photography, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.

2 thoughts on “Dallas!

  1. Beautiful photographs! Downtown Dallas has really undergone a change in the last few years, driven by the increasing number of people that actually live down there, the build-out of the Arts District, and the DART rail system. Dallas is gaining the cosmopolitan downtown social scene it has needed to become a complete city.

    Thanks for sharing.

    • Thanks for the comment! From what I’ve seen (from afar), Dallas seems to be continually undergoing changes… but they do seem to be good changes. The DART system and Arts District make me a little sad I don’t live there. At least I live close enough to visit occasionally.

Leave a Reply

