Stay-cation – Oklahoma City Bombing Memorial

Over the weekend, my husband and I took a little trip… to the city we live in. We have an anniversary coming up, and we had two free nights at a swanky hotel, so we decided to take a getaway to our city and explore it like tourists would. We went to a fancy restaurant, walked around downtown and around Bricktown, went to local midtown eateries, saw the art museum’s exhibits, and so on. It was kinda fun… and kinda strange. After all, we live here and have been to (most of) these places before.

Over the weekend, I took a few pictures (mostly from the amazing exhibits at the museum) that I wanted to share on here. The shots in this post were taken with my phone (sadly, I’d left my DSLR at the hotel that night). We’d just finished dinner on Saturday and were driving around before going back to the hotel. As we pulled up to the light, I saw a stunning sunset… and a crowd. So I got out and had the hubby circle the block as I grabbed the shots I wanted.

For those of you who don’t know, this is the Oklahoma City Bombing Memorial. It’s a somber, stunning, touching tribute to those who lost their lives that day. If you come to our fair city, you should go see it (and the adjacent museum).

^ The glowing lights on the horizon on the left are the lit chair statues that represent the victims of the bombing.

^ I’ve been to the memorial several times, and I don’t think I’ve ever seen this many people here. They were silent as someone discussed the events of that not-so-long-ago day, the victims, and the memorial itself. For those who don’t know, the museum is in the building in the background of this picture. To learn more, please visit the memorial’s website.

I wish I’d had my DSLR with me that night, but these will have to do. Maybe someday I’ll go back, pay my respects again, and get some better shots.

Photographs © Nicole McDaniel and Nicole McDaniel Photography, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.

Leave a Reply

